Hopes and thoughts about my future

When I had my first internship, I ended up working for a sport association, even though I stopped do exercises as long as I discovered that step classes and dancing all night long on high hills do not combine very well together.

My first job in PR was about promoting a classic car event even though all that I know about them was that they had extremely shining paints and were extremely expensive – and that if I could find a guy that had one, I should marry him! I ended up my 4 months of short employment hating classic cars, their histories and their technical details and promising myself that I would find an area of real interest for me for my next employment.

After other 4 months, I found myself in Sweden to accomplish a task for a course guess in which sector? Automotive, again. Plus, my group was chosen – with 1 possibility out of 7 – to take care of the campaign from an activist point of view, of course Greenpeace. And guess what? I don’t like them. Well, I’ve never dug into, and I think that is likely because I was stalked and annoyed several times by their volunteers for a donation while I was shopping for my grocery or going around university offices in the center of Padova. But you know, people nowadays get overwhelmed.

From this background – to be in line with what we are talking about during our lectures at the university – I can easily deduct that I have a particular and special attitude to attract tasks in sectors that I don’t like at all. Thus, I can predict a very likely future scenario in which surely I will not work for something that I like. Therefore, I can strategically plan my next steps, that are:

Lower your head and work hard. 

You will never get a job in something that you like, it will never be love at first sight with your work – unless you’re one of the lucky ones, that certainly I am not. So, just restrain your expectation at the beginning, ’cause employment world is a cruel one. But do not desist. Never. What doesn’t destroy you, it makes you stronger, they say. I hope it will be true. ‘Cause when I will – hopefully – succeed in something that I don’t like, I’m expecting twice the satisfaction in doing it.

Leave a Reply

What I write about

Stuart Ewen

"The history of PR is… a history of a battle for what is reality and how people will see and understand reality."
that PR dude

just another PR blog

Public Relations and much more...

A bohemian girl and her passions around Europe

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

FOLLIA CREATIVA: inspiration, spot, digital activation, viral

Fonti di ispirazione, digital activation, viral video divertenti, guerrilla marketing, flash mob, spot pubblicitari TV dagli anni 80/90 al 2015

Buon marketing .com

tutto fa marketing...

